Visa-free transit in China aiports

Beginning from January 1, 2013 citizens of 45 countries, including the USA, Great Britain, France, Canada and Russia travelling to Shanghai or Beijing will be able to take an advantage of 72-hour visa-free transit corridor. The transit entry into the country can be formalized upon arrival at the Beijing Capital International Airport or at the Shanghai Pudong and Hongqiao International Airports. Those who are willing to get a permission for a three night stay in these cities will be required to provide  border service of the airport with a ticket confirming a planned flight to a third country.

It is also expected that a similar innovation will be applied to Shanghai ports and railway stations soon.

At the moment, Russian citizens are required to have a transit visa to China if they are going to stay in the airport of China for more than 24 hours or if they are willing to leave the transit hall of the airport. The exception is Beijing, where the entry to the city is visa-free for Russian citizens if they are going to stay less than 24 hours on the territory of China while having a transit.

The changes will affect citizens of following countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic , Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Russia, Great Britain, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, USA, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar.