Schengen Area Creates an Information System of new Generation

Second Generation Information System (SISII) was officially launched in the countries of Schengen Agreement. Its main goal is to strengthen the security and facilitate moving within the Schengen Area.

Using the new system authorities are hoping to facilitate the information exchange between national border, customs and police services in regards of individuals "capable of serious actions of criminal nature."

Along with the system, the updating involved the database, which now includes descriptions of the missing people, as well as information on a number of valuables, personal property, weapons, documents that could be stolen or lost.

Reference information:
The Schengen Agreement was established on March 26, 1995. Currently, the total length of the land border of Schengen Area is 7,721 km; the length of the maritime border is 42.673 km. For the March 2013 agreement is signed by 30 states and actually acts (with the abolition of border controls) in 26 countries:
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Hungary
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Denmark (excluding Greenland and the Faroe Islands)
  • Iceland
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Czech Republic
  • Switzerland
  • Sweden
  • Estonia
Countries automatically included in the Schengen Area (although the agreement is not signed)
  • Andorra (together with Spain)
  • Monaco (along with France)
  • San Marino (along with Italy)

Countries signed the Schengen Agreement, but retained the passport control - and therefore are outside the Schengen Area - United Kingdom and Ireland. In order to travel to these countries one has get a separate visa.

Some of the new members of European Union - Romania, Bulgaria and Cyprus - are still not included into the Schengen Area. Trips to these countries also require a separate visa.

In 2013 the entry into the Schengen Area of Croatia is anticipated. The official entry is scheduled for July 1, 2013.